Vicarious Hats

Posted: June 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

indulge me

if you will

before pissing off

to somewhere else,

i tread lightly

so that you see me

yet not feel me,

flickering as a bulb

on bare socket

over a desk

littered in curled

yellowed pages,

some written upon in

inks that dispel moods,

tranquil lakes between

stacks of leatherbound journals

accented by the trails my

life has taken,

do i require

that you linger

like a rumor soured,

yes i do

for i have

placed upon these pages words

of varying strategy,

drawing you into the cavernous

mind that engulfs

all who enter,

my world is so unlike yours

my monsters do not lurk

beneath slatted wooden bed

but morph into that bed

and enfold me and mattress

in wooden embrace of illusion,

but if you enter and still leave

take away a portion

scoop into words, sentence and

phrase with that shovel like

perception,

smile, urge or rant

at my discourse,

you are not required to like

or linger yet i will get you,

under my hats

worn over many faces

you will see me many times

and i will be different

Comments
  1. ~Lady Day says:

    fantastic!

  2. Reblogged this on Jameswfrobertsdapoet's Blog and commented:
    This is a great poem from a good friend of mine. Chris.

  3. brian miller says:

    intriguing…i like the monsters being the bed that engulf you and the mattress…ha…and wearing each others hats def gives us perspective, but surely requires one to linger just a bit…smiles.

Leave a Reply

