Can I See

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

with a moonglow

face of anticipation

she scraped my heart

off her shoes,

peeling away yesterday

dropping me on the

obituary page,

but i was not done,

love was more

than her birdhouse breasts

that held secrets

chirping in a way i could

not feed,

or those hands

that interlocked mine

for walks past lake and wood

that promised more,

conscious of her

beating out a parade

of emotions

that marched staggered and

fell under my influence,

i would have to join in

pick up the beat,

dragged from floor grazed

and bleeding,

no flowers in paper wrap,

no chocolates

or soft music,

a demonstrate grander

needed,

or else i would remain

detested and dropped,

to configure a new way to

my lfe without her.

Comments
  1. I too like the imagery / pathos in ‘dropping me on the obituary page’ and the thought that one will ‘configure’ a new life – nice write, nice read

  2. The resolute angst . . . the “scrapings on the shoe” – love this piece.

  3. ManicDdaily says:

    The short lines are very powerful here. That sense of clipped short feeling – I’m not describing it well – my favorite lines about the birdhouse breasts chirping in a way you could not feed – this is so original and eccentric and yet very real and vivid too. k.

  4. Raivenne says:

    Amazing what love can do to us, huh? Scraping the depths of hurt for this and yet we trudge on. Beautifully penned, loved the scraped heart / obit lines.

  5. Kevin says:

    Love the line “dropping me on the obituary page”. And I see Victoria did too 🙂

  6. brian miller says:

    peeling away yesterday

    dropping me on the

    obituary page

    ouch, but a great way to put it….from bird house breast on is really gripping to me…great use of language and allusion there….great stuff..

  7. You evoke the deep pain of loss int his poem. My favorite image: “dropping me on the obituary page!” Good one.

Leave a Reply

