Graveyard Dream Blues

Posted: August 31, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

gravedigger stooped in graveyard

tearing apart my dream

throat stretched not to yell but holler the blues

within dense comfort of the blues

fear crawled away from skull borne graveyard

memory contorted as a dream

barren stone studded dream

verse of longing in the blues

as i dig my knees in dirt at the graveyard

solace in the graveyard ? no but found a dream and blues

inspired by Ida Cox and Graveyard Dream Blues (1923) for @dVersePoets http://dversepoets.com/2012/08/30/form-for-all-on-tritinas/

Comments
  1. ManicDdaily says:

    This is wonderfully well done. It really does transcend the form–the repetitions working like echo, dirge, or blues repetition – agree with what all have said. k.

  2. Mary says:

    You did well with the tritina form, created a dark mood, though it ended on a positive note – with a dream and blues!

  3. Thanks for the follow and I love your work, as well. You invoke different moods in your poems so brilliantly. I think we become better writers by reading, and that is because of talented people like yourself. You seem like a cool guy… a bit like myself ! LOL Thanks again and I’ll enjoy reading more from you ! ….Jeffrey Littrell

  4. THe form was fine, but best of all was the mood you created. So well done.

  5. So clever this tritina ~ you make it look effortless ~ I did not find it so! 😉

  6. This poem just demonstrates that form – here the tritina – is merely a tool, subject to the art of the poet who wields it. A unique, ambitious write.

  7. A blues by any other form is still a blues – weird and creepy and perfectly apt. I liked it a lot. Inspired!

    • clawfish says:

      Thanks Gay i happened to be listening to Ida Cox at the start of the week and this came to me like this, hope all is well ,am camping at the moment so internet not so hot

  8. Claudia says:

    the blues fits in so very well…tightly penned emotions..

  9. kkkkaty says:

    If I heard a gravedigger singing the blues while working, it would bring me comfort…especially if the grave was for someone I loved so much…nicely done..

  10. irisoniris says:

    I loved the imagery, and the rhythm by repetition was a nice, haunting touch, considering the subject. My soul heard you. Thank you.

  11. I really like that last line…finding the dream and blues ~ With you format, I didn’t even realize it was written in the form ~ Well done ~

  12. brian miller says:

    so sad man….i find peace at the graveyard often but that is def when i am not visiting my own…he seen quite a many distraught in the dirt before their stones…

  13. hobgoblin2011 says:

    awesome end line. Really ambitious using graveyard, that’s impressive how you made it fit, and not forced either. the blues element here is a great touch as well. Really nice work with the form.

Leave a Reply

