sidewalk city flesh
tattooed by footsteps, rain
and spat out gum,
the night seemed so small
it could be contained in a can,
as walking
with hands held as consideration
more than love,
beneath our feet
the city, this beast
harbored many grudges
that seeded into nature
love affairs
side alley muggings
and falling down drunk,
when we found a moment
of thought connecting,
we spoke,
our arrangement was one
created from physical neglect
and no love or lingering passion
would occur,
yet we parted with difficulty
returning to the oblique swathe
of our normal lives,
brought a fear
neither of us could confront
yet truth would not let us
concede to the other

new york at night - vivienne gucwa

new york at night – vivienne gucwa

 

magpie tales statue stamp 185

 

Comments
  1. katmcdaniel says:

    This piece really gets into the senses… “the night seemed so small it could be contained in a can” gives me shivers. The analogy between the city and the relationship is really moving and extremely honest. It really is a striking poem.

  2. Stormcat says:

    Many poets wrote to this photograph but none reached me like this. Suffice it at that as I prefer not to divulge the details. Oh and thanks for joining my blog even though it isn’t word-press!

  3. A beautiful poem indeed! Dear colleague, I have included your blog in my list for The Versatile Blogger Award. I put here all in my own blogg: http://wp.me/p3rilc-ae (may the short excerpt of your blogg in English not be wrong! 🙂 Thanks a lot for your posts!

  4. cynt5525 says:

    Thank You for following also !!! 🙂

  5. cynt5525 says:

    Thank You for liking my Painting & Visiting my blog !!! Visit anytime!!!! 🙂 *Cynthia

Leave a Reply

