Just because you write it doesn’t mean Hollywood has to buy it…

Posted: November 25, 2016 in Uncategorized

An interesting piece that makes a lot of sense

My Blank Page

poor screenwriterThis reality was one of the hardest lessons to learn when I began screenwriting. I thought like many aspirants do, that just because I finished a new screenplay that someone would care and it would sell. It took about five specs into my journey to figure out that it takes many projects in the marketplace for one to succeed. I’ll admit those early scripts were not amazing and it took me years to write at a professional level to compete. Many times on your journey it’s a long dry period where no project moves forward and you can’t get anyone to read it. Other times every script you push garners interest and some brush close to a sale or option. It’s the ebb and flow as you pursue a screenwriting career.

After I began getting paid professionally to write screenplays, some ended up in development and did not get produced…

View original post 1,640 more words

Leave a Reply

